Small Business Forum

Home

Go Back   Small Business Forum > SMALL BUSINESS ADVICE > 05 - Business Operations
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

05 - Business Operations Management, P&L Control & More

Old 03-16-2004, 07:55 PM

Default How do you choose a web development company to build your site?

Except for checking out portfolio, what else would you look at or ask

Thanks!
Old 03-16-2004, 08:02 PM

I used elance.com to have someone bid on doing my site...
Old 03-16-2004, 08:06 PM

I'd make sure they knew how to build a site that is search engine friendly. If they start talking about flash, javascript navigation, sessions to track visitors, and stuff like that RUN as fast as you can. Don't sacrafice fuction for form.
Old 03-16-2004, 11:48 PM

as a web developer myself, i would recommend you figure out exactly what you are looking for.

if you want something that is going to rank highly in the search engines, then i'd say stick with the basics and get someone who can give your site some clear and attractive aesthetics.

if interactivity (flash, javascript, css, etc.) is your thing, then you'd want to go with someone who can mix your media message with cutting-edge technology and project your company's message clearly and concisely.

if budget is an issue, then i would definitely suggest e-lance or using a site like craigslist.org. depending on what you need and what results you're after, hiring a firm could cost you a good amount of money. if your site doesn't have much content, hire a 1-man shop.

if you need database-driven applications, then hire a company/individual who specializes in making them.

also, if location is an issue, then find someone in your area or the major metropolitain area near you (if you are on the outskirts of town).

if you go to Inc. Magazine's website, they have a directory of web designers/developers from around the country. you can start looking there. also, put an ad up on craigslist.org.