Small Business Forum

Home

Go Back   Small Business Forum > SMALL BUSINESS ADVICE > 03 - Accounting & Taxes
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

03 - Accounting & Taxes Accounting Help & Tax Strategies

Old 05-16-2005, 03:36 PM

Default mileage write-off

I'm an independent contractor and do a decent amount of driving. I'd like to write the mileage off on my taxes, but the car I drive is not in my name. I've read through the IRS website and it seems I must be the owner of the car to write off mileage. If I were to have the car put in my name could I start tracking the miles from that day on? I'm not sure how it works.

Also, I couldn't find any information on what all needs to be tracked as far as my day-to-day mile count. Do I need the date, start/end mileage, time, location etc..?

Thanks!
Old 05-19-2005, 09:08 PM

Whenever I meet with clients, I just print out a mapquest route to the destination and file it later. I'll note the date and person/reason I'm meeting with them. I don't think you're required to keep this information, but if you're ever audited, it will help if you have it.
Old 05-19-2005, 09:57 PM
pete

You pretty much need a log to justify the miles you claim at the end of the year.

Starting mileage each day, stops along the way, ending mileage.

You cannot claim to and from your home to your place of work. Only miles from place of work to various sites / sales - service calls, etc. Then back to the office / place of work.

The exception to this is "outside salesmen" who work from their home and do not report to a local office on a daily basis. They do not want to subsidize your commute.
Old 05-20-2005, 05:31 PM

what about other expenses? instead of just doing it by mileage.

thanks!
Old 05-20-2005, 05:52 PM
pete

I believe, but haven't been involved for a few years, that you can track all of your vehicle related expenses, such as gas, tires, repairs, insurance, etc. and claim them.