Small Business Forum

Home

Go Back   Small Business Forum > SMALL BUSINESS OPPORTUNITIES > 03 - Buying a Business
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

03 - Buying a Business Making a Business Investment or Acquisition
Find a Business For Sale:
Click Here

Old 01-10-2008, 11:03 AM

Default Trying to become part owner of small company...advice? opinions? experience?

Hello,

I have been working for a small technology firm for 4 years starting from the entry level tech and working up to the director of engineering. This is a firm of nearly 20 employees and revenues of approx $3m. There are currently 4 partners in the organization, one of which owns the majority and it trickles down from there for the other 3 principals.

I have spoken with my boss, who started the company and is 2nd in command, for years about becoming a partner and it is something that is finally starting to take shape.

I do not have the $30k cash to be able to buy even 1% of the company but my boss mentioned having a payable note that I can pay down with commissions and compensation increases in lieu of receiving them as cash.

My ultimate goal is that i have a true stake in the company and its future, a vote at executive meetings, and a way to be compensated when/if the company is purchased by a larger entity or grows itself into a much larger organization.

How should I go about this? Has anyone else gone through this experience that can give me direction on what types of legal issues i need to be aware of, what % I should request to have a true stake in the company even if it means dissolution from other shareholders, and just general direction on how I should approach this further.

I am also fairly young and just out of college (the 8 year plan as i was working full time), but with almost 11 years experience in the field. I want to make sure i have my ducks in a row and research done to handle the situation accordingly.

Thanks so much!

X